Neurologists get Queens Birthday Honours

By Mardi Chapman

13 Jun 2019

Prof David Burke

Neurologists and neuroscientists have been recognised for their service in the Queen’s Birthday 2019 Honours List.

They include Professor David Burke who was honoured with a Companion (AC) in the General Division for his “eminent service to neurophysiology, to innovative treatments for spinal cord and brain trauma injuries, and to professional medical organisations”.

Professor Burke is a clinical neurologist who has held senior clinical and research positions at the Prince Henry and Prince of Wales Hospitals.

He also held Chairs of Clinical Neurophysiology and Neurology at the University of New South Wales and Professor and Dean, Research & Development (Health) at the University of Sydney.

Previous recognition of his contribution includes being elected a Fellow of the Australian Academy of Science (FAA) and the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (FTSE).

He has previously been appointed an Officer in the Order of Australia (AO) and awarded the Centenary Medal of Federation by the Australia Government.

Professor Christine Kilpatrick was awarded an AO for her distinguished service to medicine through senior administrative roles, to the promotion of quality in health care, and to neurology.

Professor Kilpatrick, a neurologist who specialised in epilepsy, is currently chief executive of Melbourne Health.

Professor Linda Richards, from the Queensland Brain Institute, was appointed as an AO for her “distinguished service to medical research and education in the field of developmental neurobiology, and to community engagement in science”.

She is immediate past president of the Australasian Neuroscience Society, chair of the Australian Brain Alliance and on the Federal Government’s Million Minds Mission Advisory Panel.

Professor Bill Carroll, from the University of Western Australia and the Perron Institute, was recognised with an AM for his “significant service to neurological medicine, and to people with multiple sclerosis”.

Among his numerous professional roles, Professor Carroll is president of the World Federation of Neurology and Patron of the Pan Asian Committee for the Treatment, Research and Investigation of Multiple Sclerosis (PACTRIMS).

Associate Professor Jonathan Ell was recognised with an AM for “significant service to medicine, and to medical education and research”.

Associate Professor Ell has had a longstanding neurology appointment at the RPAH where he has special interests in hearing, balance and eye movement and in neuro-ophthalmology.

He is a co-founder of the Neuro-Otology Society of Australia.

Associate Professor Richard Stark was recognised with an AM for significant service to neurological medicine, and to professional associations.

Associate Professor Stark, a neurologist at Monash University and the Alfred Hospital, has particular interests in headache and migraine, and the neurology of cancer.

He is vice-president of the Australian and New Zealand Headache Society, treasurer of World Federation of Neurologists and a Member of the Australian College of Legal Medicine.

Professor Carolyn Sue, director of neurogenetics at Royal North Shore Hospital and director of the Kolling Institute, University of Sydney, was also recognised with an AM for her significant contribution to medicine, particularly to mitochondrial disease.

Professor Sue’s research focuses on understanding the role of mitochondrial function in neurodegeneration, especially in mitochondrial disorders, Parkinson’s disease and other movement disorders.

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link