ANZAN president among neurology achievers recognised in 2019 Honours List


By Michael Woodhead

7 Feb 2019

Prof Kiernan AM

Several leading clinicians in the field of neurology and neuroscience have been recognised in the Australia Day Honours List for 2019.

The head of ANZAN, Professor Matthew Kiernan has become a Member of the Order of Australia (AM) for significant service to medicine, and to medical education, in the field of neurology.

Professor Kiernan is Bushell Chair of Neurology Medicine, Sydney School of Medicine, Co-Director and Director, Discovery and Translation, Brain and Mind Centre.

The inaugural director of the Australian Brain Bank, Professor Catriona McLean,  becomes  an Officer of the Order of Australia (AO). Professor Mclean, a pathologist in Victoria, receives the honour “for distinguished service to medicine in the field of academic and clinical neuropathology, and as a role model and mentor.”

Also awarded an AO is the CEO of Neuroscience Research Australia (NeuRA), Professor Peter Robert Schofield of Sydney. Professor Schofield receives the AO “for distinguished service to medical and scientific research in the field of neuroscience, and to professional institutes.”

The former head of the Stroke Foundation, Dr Erin Lalor, of Victoria, receives the AM “for significant service to community health through not-for-profit organisations, and to people affected by stroke.”

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link