Dermatologists recognised in the Australia Day Honours List

1 Feb 2022

A/Prof Saxon Smith

Two dermatologists have been recognised in the Australia Day 2022 Honours List.

Clinical Associate Professor Saxon Smith was honoured with a Member (AM) of the Order of Australia for his significant service to medicine as a dermatologist and researcher, and to professional societies.

He is principal dermatologist at the Dermatology and Skin Cancer Centre and has been affiliated with the University of Sydney since 2013.

He is past President of the Australian Medical Association of New South Wales and received their President’s Award in 2018.

Other honours include the Australasian College of Dermatologists Certificate of Meritorious Service (2019) and theĀ AMA (Federal) Roll of Fellows recipient (2019).

Professor Kurt Gebauer

Professor Kurt Gebauer was also awarded a Medal (OAM) in the General Division of the Order of Australia for his service to dermatology.

Director of Fremantle Dermatology, he is also a former head of Dermatology at the Fremantle Hospital and a past director of the Dermatology Post-Graduate Training Program in WA.

Professor Gebauer has been affiliated with the University of Western Australia since 1998.

He has also had an active role in College activities including as former Censor and Examiner and in convening the Rural Task Force and Practice Development Committee.

Professor Gebauer has been a longstanding member and is currently Co-Chair of the educational resource All About Acne.

Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link