Dermatologists recognised in Queen’s birthday honours


By Mardi Chapman

12 Jun 2020

Associate Professor Chris Baker

Associate Professor Chris Baker has been awarded an AM in the General Division for his services to medicine, dermatology and to professional medical colleges.

He was one of many clinicians and medical researchers recognised for their service in the Queen’s Birthday 2020 Honours List.

Associate Professor Baker is director of dermatology at St Vincent’s Hospital Melbourne and has private practices in Melbourne.

His interests include advanced psoriasis therapies, photodermatology, phototherapy, skin cancer and clinical trials.

He is a past president of the Australasian College of Dermatologists, former Chief Examiner and Dean of Education with the College and the 2017 recipient of the College’s Silver Medal for distinguished service.

Associate Professor Baker was also President of the Skin and Cancer Foundation where he co-founded the Australasian Psoriasis Registry with Associate Professor Peter Foley.

Prof Ingrid Winship

Also recognised in the Queen’s Birthday Honours List as an AO in the General Division was Professor Ingrid Winship for “distinguished service to medicine, particularly to clinical genetics and research, to cancer prevention, and as a role model and mentor.”

Professor Winship, who has dual qualifications in clinical genetics and dermatology, is an expert in heritable skin disorders and cancers.

She is inaugural Chair of Adult Clinical Genetics at the University of Melbourne and the Executive Director of Research for Melbourne Health.

Dr Ivan Simmons, the longest serving dermatologist in South Australia, was awarded an OAM in the General Division for his service to medicine.

He has worked as head of dermatology at the Royal Adelaide Hospital and visiting specialist to the Adelaide Women’s and Children’s Hospital, Julia Farr Centre, Flinders Medical Centre, Queen Victoria Hospital and South Australian Mental Health Services.

Medical oncologist Professor Georgina Long, co-medical director of Melanoma Institute Australia, was also awarded an AO in the General Division for her distinguished service to medicine and in particular to melanoma research.


Already a member?

Login to keep reading.

Email me a login link